• Grading Policy

    The Middle Level English grading philosophy is that grades are meant to

    provide the teacher with clarification of strengths and weaknesses for future

    instructional practices. Grades also act as a motivational tool for students,

    while helping them evaluate and monitor their own progress.

    The following list/description details specific types of student assessments

    that are represented in each of the marking period grades for my class.

    • Quarterly Assessments: 100 pts.
    • Effective Communicator: 100 pts.
    • Novel/packets: 200 pts.
    • Quizzes: up to 30 points
    • Unit tests: 100 pts.  
    • Vocabulary lessons/quizzes: 300 pts.
    • Test prep materials: varies
    • Book Reports: 200 pts.

    *The number and type of assessments may vary from marking period to marking period. Only first and second quarterly assessments will be incorporated into 10-week grade. Third quarter assessment is the ELA exam, and fourth quarter is the final exam.

    Marking Period Grades

    Marking period grades are calculated using the following weightings for each

    of the specific types of assessments. I have also included the mathematical

    formula that I use in grade calculations.

    Marking period grades are calculated by dividing the total points earned

    during the marking period by the total possible points. An example of this

    would be a student earning 90 points on a book report out of a possible 100

    points, 30 points on a quiz out of a possible 50 points, and 70 points on a

    unit test out of a possible 100 points. The grade would be total points

    earned: (190) divided by total possible points: (250) which would equal a